Malfunctioning Me

Posted: June 23, 2010 in personal

I got a text from my recent optometrist that I need a follow check-up for my eyes and glasses as it has been six months already since I got mine.  I said recent- that’s because I change optometrist (and eyeglasses) often. They don’t seem to get or prescribe the right eyeglasses for me.

So off I went. I haven’t been using my glasses lately. I have been reading a lot which gives me a headache, naturally, cuz I’m supposed to wear my glasses! Ok, back to topic… I went there just expecting them to align the glasses, clean it up a bit, make it look like new- which really meant doing nothing cuz it’s still like new because I haven’t used it often, as I’ve said.

While waiting, I asked if they could check my eyes again because I’ve been having headaches from reading a lot. Even when I wore my glasses, I still have a headache. She gladly did it, of course.

“Can you see this, read this? Is this clear, is this blurred?” here and there and when we finished, she told me I need to have my glasses replaced. I’m like: ok, do what you have to do.  So, they did.

Fifteen minutes later, I got a new one. Same frame (cuz it’s still new!… and kinda expensive…) different prescription.

I asked her if my eyes got worse. She said there’s only a slight change in my vision. They had to change the glasses to accommodate and treat my astigmatism coupled with hyperopia (farsightedness).  That got worse (because I haven’t been using my glasses!!!)…

So now I have to wear this awful thing- all the time. Hah! As if the stubborn me would!

Add that to other parts of my body that are malfunctioning and the list goes on…

What a life!

Leave a comment