I never liked soccer

Posted: June 18, 2010 in korea
Tags: ,

But since I live in a country which worships the sport, I cant help but take notice and join the enthusiasm they have for it.

Before the game started today, Koreans had high hopes or, let’s call it faith, that their team would emerge as a winner. They beat Greece in the last game. Although they knew winning against Argentina is a long shot, they were hopeful. As I went out to buy something, I thought most people were in their houses waiting for the game to begin. But as I near the restaurant/school area, I saw hordes of people in chicken/beer restos eagerly anticipating the game.

As the game started the mood was festive, full of smiles. There were near misses, but still Koreans were forgiving. After the opponent’s first point, their happiness started to go down, naturally, but they were still optimistic. They were pissed though, because that first point was a mistake. There were still cheers in the air. Korea! Korea!

Next point they were losing faith, but still trying to cheer for the team. Then they scored! Whoa, they’re alive again. Cheers started too and optimism was back in the air.

Then came two more points from the opponent and  more misses and mistakes for them. Gone were the cheers, replaced with shouting you could hear from outside- “What the hell is that?”…

I wasn’t watching the game. I didn’t need to. If the noise outside was cheerful and loud, they were winning. There’d be drumroll and music from the nearby restaurants and university.

The silence was deafening today. 4-1. They were slaughtered.

But there is still hope. Next game, they’d brace for another game, another optimism and cheers for a team that’s unbelievably overpaid and undertaxed.

Comments
  1. jac says:

    hehe.soccer.pandemonium.missing.my.periods.amy?hehe.
    have a good day.

Leave a comment